Dirty Water Conditions as Seasonal Currents Swirl, Striped Marlin and Dorado Appear at the Tres Marias

Dirty Water Conditions as Seasonal Currents Swirl, Striped Marlin and Dorado Appear at the Tres Marias, Blue Water past El Banco

Written By Stan Gabruk

ReRun Again: Rumors of My Death Run Wild, Master Baiter´s is in a NEW LOCATION , Don´t Panic!

Well I have heard from a few of my forty one readers that you missed me and feared the worst. Well fear not Amigos, Master Baiter´s is Alive and well, I am not dead as reported by the resident cockroach vendors. I´d be worried if they said I Was alive! The reason for this misinformation is the mere fact I moved my shop to a place that now has water, a door that closes and I even a bathroom! Happy Day, but the down side is I jumped on the deal and forgot I HAD TO GET A DAMN LICENSE. Normally you move into a place where t he license exist and you just transfer names. Not so in my case, there was no license to transfer so the Mexican Bureaucracy had me by the you-know-what’s….  So I am kinda in business, which means I am stuck in this situation until I can get this straight. So now you know…

The Truth behind the rumors…..

This is what the new shop looks like. It is 8A in the Puesta Del Sol Condo section on the Boardwalk down from Las Palomas Restaurant. Notice no name as yet!

Now to fishing, this for the most part has been a sad story. You see we´re in the middle of a seasonal current change and this means dirty water and cold water for the time being. For the last couple of weeks this has been the case, but there are signs of change.

Those heading out to the Tres Maria islands have  found their share of Yellowfin Tuna in the 60 to 80 lb range and for this time of the year, that ain´t bad, just remember to stay outside the twelve mile limit and all will be fine.  There is blue water at Isabel Island and there are also Dorado in the area. A little surprising, but a nice surprise.  This means it is just a matter of time before we see them moving in and we should have Dorado before the end of April, maybe sooner so cross your fingers.

The area between Punta Mita and the Tres Maria or Isla Marias as the nationals call them has Striped Marlin in fair numbers but only around 150 lbs. Striped Marlin prefer cooler water temperatures and to have Dorado and Striped Marlin is an indication of warm water from somewhere. I am not going to over analyze it, I´ll just go with it and consider myself lucky for them being in the area. So keep your ears on amigos.

Marlin near the Tres Maria Islands

Corbeteña and El Banco are full of beautiful Jack Cravalls and that´s about it. Just what you wanted to hear isn´t it. Not a biggie for the most part, since those interested in larger fish are going the distance.  If you´re in the area give the high spots a shot and see what happens. For the most part I would say there are better places to spend your time and fuel dollar if fishing.

The best place to be again for this past week is still the Marietta Islands. Rooster fish have set up house there around the reefs and they´re nice size as well in the 35 lb range. Of course there are the usual players, Snappers, Bonito, Skip Jacks, Pompano and a shot at Sea Bass with the cold water. We always have Sea bass in the deep spots in the bay, they prefer very cold water so they only come into the shallower parts of the bay in the deepest part of winter as fishing goes.  Eight hour days are what I recommend or the time being until there is a change.

The reason for my last statement, inside the bay is cold and the water is dirty, dirty, dirty! We all love hearing that I know. But again, we get these swirling currents come this time of the year and you can find all of a sudden the water is clean green as we expect most of the time. We´ve had several unusual years of El Nino followed by La Nina for the last two years. So I have forgotten what a normal condition is.  I guess normal is whatever Mother Nature says it is….

Yellowfin Tuna at the Tres Maria Islands!

Inside the bay if for sight  seeing right now. Very few fishing the bay and those that are in the bay are small, tiny in fact. Jack Cravalls will take baits in dirty water, but they have to be able to see them first and  that is the problem. Take heart, this will change in a few days.

While the shop is officially closed I am still booking boats online at www.masterbaiters.com.mx so if you are looking for a fishing trip call me the shop phone number or my cell as listed on the web site and we´ll fix you up.

I have just taken possession of four new boats (new to me) which means Master Baiter´s Fleet is larger and more modern than ever. Stay tuned for web page updates and more interesting and Exciting news …

Rooster Fish at the Marietta Islands

Now for the record, Master Baiter´s Sportfishing and Tackle is still in business. We are now located in front of Dock D or in Spanish Muelle D. There are no signs as yet, the business police (regalementos) have told me not to display any business name until I have my license which should be shortly. I hope … Going on a month now and if I can find anyone who gives a darn, we´ll be up and running. So watch for my competition buster announcements  like  Free City and Jungle Tours to everyone that comes by the shop after we open again….but wait until after we open. I don`t sell that many tours anyway so we´ll just put them out to my loyal readers, all forty one of you! Ha ha ha ha ha.

Ok, that´s about if for now….

Until Next Week, Don´t forget to kiss your fish!

Important Notice: After six years Master Baiter´s has changed its location. We are still in Marina Vallarta, only now we´re located in front of Dock D. Our phone number is the same (011 52 1) 322 779 7571, this is my cell if you are roaming. My shop number is still (011 52 322) 209 1128 if you are local then my cell is (044) 322 779 75 71 or shop is at (322) 209 1128. We still are waiting for the new business  license so my doors have been closed but you can still come  by  and say hello and get anything you need.

Master Baiter´s Sportfishing & Tackle is located in Marina Vallarta on the Boardwalk in front of Dock D. Facing the water turn to your right and we´re down four doors or so from Las Palomas the Restaurant. Come by and say hello!  Remember, at Master Baiter´s Sportfishing and Tackle, We Won´t Jerk You Around! If you have any questions on any subject regarding fishing or Puerto Vallarta, feel free to ask at my email: CatchFish@MasterBaiters.com.mx Web page:  http://www.MasterBaiters.com.mx

The trade name Master Baiter’s ® Sportfishing and Tackle is protected under trade mark law and is the sole property of Stan Gabruk.

Comments are closed.